Data / Partner portfolio / IDB Group / IDB
Battery energy storage system to maximize the use of surplus energy
Published title: Battery Energy Storage System to maximize the use of surplus energy from a solar photovoltaic plant located in the Caracol Industrial Park of Haiti.
US$ millions unless stated. Haitian fiscal year, October to September. FY2026-27 began October 1, 2026.
Objective
The investment grant HA-G1048 ("the project") builds upon the program 4900/GR-HA and GRT/CF-17708-HA ("Improving Electricity Access in Haiti"). The general objective of that program is to increase reliable electricity access in Haiti that promotes economic development and to strengthen electricity sector governance. The program will finance a hybrid power system at the PIC incorporating one 8 MW and one 4 MW Solar Power Plants (SPP) to reduce energy costs. The objective of the project HA-G1048 is to maximize the use of the energy produced by the 8-MWp solar photovoltaic plant (SPP) to further reduce the use of thermal power, by implementing a Battery Energy Storage System (BESS) at the PIC.
As published by IDB projects dataset, in its original language.
- Sector
- Energy
- Stage
- Closed, last transaction December 16, 2021
- Approval
- December 16, 2021
- Closing
- Not reported
- Instrument
- Technical cooperation, Sovereign Guaranteed
- Effectiveness
- Not reported
- Last transaction
- December 16, 2021
- Operation ID
- HA-T1302
Life cycle3 stages, 3 dates
Stage history
| Stage | From |
|---|---|
| Approved | December 16, 2021 |
| Under way | December 16, 2021 |
| Closed | December 16, 2023 |
Dated events
| Event | Date | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Approval | December 16, 2021 | IDB projects dataset |
| First commitment | December 16, 2021 | Transactions |
| Signing | December 16, 2021 | IDB projects dataset |
Financing
Table 1.Financing, US$ millions
| Financier | AmountUS$ millions | Role | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| IDB | 0.4 | Institution | IDB projects dataset |
Table 2.Position at the data date by source (stocks), US$ millions
| This pageUS$ millions | Source | |
|---|---|---|
| Commitment | 0.4 | IDB projects dataset |
| Disbursed | Not reported | |
| Undisbursed | Not reported | |
| Total cost | 0.4 | IDB projects dataset |
Each amount is given as the source publishes it, converted to US$. Amounts by source
Changes to the operationnot reported
- Original closing date
- Not reported
- Closing date extensions
- Not reported
- Restructurings
- Not reported
- Emergency component
- Not reported
New commitments and disbursements by fiscal year
Table 3.New commitments and disbursements by fiscal year (flows), US$ millions
| FY2021-22US$ millions | |
|---|---|
| New commitments | 0.4 |
| Disbursements | Not reported |
| Cumulative disbursements | Not reported |
Records and documents
Transactions1 record, December 16, 2021
Table 4.Transactions, US$ millions
| Date | Measure | AmountUS$ millions | Source | Method |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| December 16, 2021 | Commitment | 0.4 | IDB projects dataset | commitment at approval date |
Terms1 of 6 reported
- Finance type
- 110 Standard grant
- Flow type
- Not reported
- Aid type
- Not reported
- Tied status
- Not reported
- Collaboration type
- Not reported
- Humanitarian
- Not reported
Identifiers1 identifier
| System | Identifier | Source |
|---|---|---|
| IDB operation | HA-T1302 | Operation record |
Partner documents
No document is listed for this operation.
Sources
- IDB project page: terms of use set by the publisher
- Transactions: terms of use set by the publisher
- Operation record: terms of use set by the publisher
Data as of October 18, 2026
| Source | Read on |
|---|---|
| IDB projects dataset | October 18, 2026 |
Cite this page
HaitiDocs. Battery energy storage system to maximize the use of surplus energy. Partner portfolio, data as of October 18, 2026. https://www.haitidocs.org/portfolio/projects/IDB%3AHA-T1302