Data / Partner portfolio / Finland / Ministry for Foreign Affairs of Finland
F.a: Literacy and Vocational Training to Women and Young People
US$ millions unless stated. Haitian fiscal year, October to September. FY2026-27 began October 1, 2026.
Description
The project improves the education level of Haitian women and young people and their possibilities to find employment and get a living for their children and families. In Haiti, illiteracy is common especially among women and it makes it very difficult for them to find employment and participate fully in the society. Young people often lack possibilities to study and get an occupation to employ and gain a living. Through the project, literacy training is offered to women.Objective is to make 1 200 women (an d men) literate through reading groups supported with the project funding. In addition, the project strengthens women’s network RENAFANM and its self-sufficiency so that it can serve a way for women to participate in the
more
society and offer activities and services to young people and women. Project’s reading groups will be on-going until the end of 2017 as planned.Basic vocational training is offered to young people in the project. A new vocational training centre has been built after the 2010 earthquake in Haiti and the constructions of the centre have finally been finished at the end of 2015. After that the project partners have been focusing on creating the study material, training teachers, purchasing of materials and finishing the centre. Sewing, baki ng and cooking courses have been ongoing from November 2016 onwards.According to the original objective of the project the courses should have been ongoing already on 2015. This would have provided a nice base for the centres self-funding as the SASK’s s upport will be decreasing in 2017. Due to challenging operating environment and unstable situation in the society the building of the vocational training centre and its operations has been delayed, and the partner has not been able to create a base for the centre’s self-funding in this time.The project budget will be increased in 2017 so that the vocational training centre’s first spring semester (January to July 2017) will be completed properly and the centre’s second fall semester (September to Dece mber 2017) can be properly started. Objective is that the partner is able to increase its self-funding as well as find new funding sources. If this is found difficult the project will be continued until July 2018 with additional support, in order to finish the second year of the school’s operations.The project is implemented by womens’ network RENAFANM (Rezo Nasyonal Fanm) and a training and research center CPB (Centre Petion Bolivar).
- Sector
- Education
- Stage
- Closed, closing date December 31, 2016
- Start
- January 1, 2014
- Closing
- December 31, 2016
- Effectiveness
- Not reported
- Last transaction
- December 31, 2016
- IATI identifier
Life cycle3 stages, 5 dates
Stage history
| Stage | From |
|---|---|
| Under way | January 1, 2014 |
| Closing | December 31, 2016 |
| Closed | December 31, 2017 |
Dated events
| Event | Date | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Actual start | January 1, 2014 | IATI |
| Planned start | January 1, 2014 | IATI |
| First disbursement | December 31, 2016 | Transactions |
| Last disbursement | December 31, 2016 | Transactions |
| Closing date | December 31, 2016 | IATI |
Financing
Table 1.Position at the data date by source (stocks), US$ millions
| This pageUS$ millions | Source | |
|---|---|---|
| Commitment | Not reported | |
| Disbursed | 0.1 | IATI |
| Undisbursed | Not reported | |
| Total cost | Not reported |
IATI amounts. Approved: The commitments the partner reports, converted to US$. Disbursed to date: The disbursements (IATI transaction type 3, money paid to another organization) and expenditure (type 4, money the publisher spent itself) the partner reports, converted to US$. Undisbursed: The undisbursed balance the record gives, where the partner reports one, in US$. Amounts by source
Changes to the operationnot reported
- Original closing date
- Not reported
- Closing date extensions
- Not reported
- Restructurings
- Not reported
- Emergency component
- Not reported
Disbursements by fiscal year
Table 2.Disbursements by fiscal year, US$ millions
| FY2016-17US$ millions | |
|---|---|
| Disbursements | 0.1 |
| Cumulative disbursements | 0.1 |
Records and documents
Transactions1 record, December 31, 2016
Table 3.Transactions, US$ millions
| Date | Measure | AmountUS$ millions | Source | Method |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| December 31, 2016 | Disbursements | 0.1 | IATI | IATI disbursement (transaction type 3), paid to another organization |
Terms5 of 6 reported
- Finance type
- 110 Standard grant
- Flow type
- 10 Official development assistance
- Aid type
- C01 Project-type interventions
- Tied status
- 5 Untied
- Collaboration type
- 1 Bilateral
- Humanitarian
- Not reported
Policy markers7 policy markers
| Policy marker | Significance | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Gender equality | Principal objective | IATI |
| Environment | Significant objective | IATI |
| Participatory development and good governance | Significant objective | IATI |
| Trade development | Not targeted | IATI |
| Climate change mitigation | Not targeted | IATI |
| Climate change adaptation | Not targeted | IATI |
| Support for NGOs | Not reported | IATI |
Identifiers2 identifiers
| System | Identifier | Source |
|---|---|---|
| IATI identifier | FI-3-2016-2015150842 | IATI |
| Previous activity identifier | FI-3-2015-2015150842 | IATI |
Partner documents
No document is listed for this operation.
Sources
- IATI record (d-portal): terms of use set by the publisher
- Transactions: terms of use set by the publisher
Data as of October 18, 2026
| Source | Read on |
|---|---|
| IATI | October 18, 2026 |
Cite this page
HaitiDocs. F.a: Literacy and Vocational Training to Women and Young People. Partner portfolio, data as of October 18, 2026. https://www.haitidocs.org/portfolio/projects/IATI%3AFI-3-2016-2015150842