HaitiDocs

Data / Partner portfolio / Canada / Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada (DFATD)

Foundations for sustainable livelihoods in critical biodiversity areas

Published title: Foundations for Sustainable Livelihoods in Critical Biodiversity Areas of the Caribbean

US$ millions unless stated. Haitian fiscal year, October to September. FY2026-27 began October 1, 2026.

Description

This project aims to empower people who live in rural areas of Haiti, Dominican Republic and Cuba to improve their social and economic conditions, well-being and livelihoods while promoting regional conservation goals such as reforestation, sustainable agriculture and new income generating activities. Activities include: (i) the rehabilitation of a school in Haiti, (ii) the implementation of small ecotourism and organic farming projects, (iii) the repairs of three water systems and the construction of one well, (iv) the establishment of four tree nurseries, (v) skill training focused on forest product use, agroforestry and organic agriculture, and (vi) environment education. Direct beneficiaries of this project are the 10,300 inhabitants of 24 rural communities. This is one of two parts of a project valued at $498,918. The first part has been completed.

Partner
Canada, Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada (DFATD)
Sector
Agriculture and food security
Stage
Closed since October 31, 2012
Start
March 2, 2009
Closing
October 31, 2012
Haiti share
32% of a 0.3 multi-country award
Effectiveness
Not reported
Departments
Ouest
Last transaction
October 30, 2013
IATI identifier
CA-3-S064667002
Life cycle4 stages, 7 dates

Stage history

StageFrom
ApprovedMarch 2, 2009
Under wayMarch 2, 2009
ClosingDate not reported
ClosedOctober 31, 2012

Dated events

EventDateSource
Actual startMarch 2, 2009IATI
First commitmentMarch 2, 2009Transactions
Planned startMarch 2, 2009IATI
First disbursementJune 11, 2009Transactions
Last disbursementMay 29, 2012Transactions
Actual endOctober 31, 2012IATI
Closing dateMarch 31, 2013IATI

Financing

Table 1.Position at the data date by source (stocks), US$ millions

This pageUS$ millionsSource
Commitment0.1IATI
Disbursed0.1IATI
UndisbursedNot reported
Total costNot reported

IATI amounts. Approved: The commitments the partner reports, converted to US$. Disbursed to date: The disbursements (IATI transaction type 3, money paid to another organization) and expenditure (type 4, money the publisher spent itself) the partner reports, converted to US$. Undisbursed: The undisbursed balance the record gives, where the partner reports one, in US$. Amounts by source

Changes to the operationnot reported
Original closing date
Not reported
Closing date extensions
Not reported
Restructurings
Not reported
Emergency component
Not reported

New commitments and disbursements by fiscal year

Disbursements, US$ millions
FY2008-09, US$<0.1 million<0.108-09FY2009-10, US$<0.1 million<0.109-10FY2010-11, US$<0.1 million<0.110-11FY2011-12, US$<0.1 million<0.111-12FY2013-14, US$−0.0 million−0.013-14FY2008-09, US$<0.1 million<0.108-09FY2009-10, US$<0.1 million<0.109-10FY2010-11, US$<0.1 million<0.110-11FY2011-12, US$<0.1 million<0.111-12FY2013-14, US$−0.0 million−0.013-14

Table 2.New commitments and disbursements by fiscal year (flows), US$ millions

FY2008-09US$ millionsFY2009-10US$ millionsFY2010-11US$ millionsFY2011-12US$ millionsFY2013-14US$ millions
New commitments0.1Not reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Disbursements<0.1<0.1<0.1<0.1−0.0
Cumulative disbursements<0.1<0.10.10.10.1

Records and documents

Transactions8 records, March 2, 2009 to October 30, 2013

Table 3.Transactions, US$ millions

DateMeasureAmountUS$ millionsSourceMethod
March 2, 2009Commitment0.1IATIIATI commitment (transaction type 2); converted: CAD at 2009 annual average (Federal Reserve G.5A/G.5 via FRED)
June 11, 2009Disbursements<0.1IATIIATI disbursement (transaction type 3), paid to another organization
March 24, 2010Disbursements<0.1IATIIATI disbursement (transaction type 3), paid to another organization
July 14, 2010Disbursements<0.1IATIIATI disbursement (transaction type 3), paid to another organization
February 9, 2011Disbursements<0.1IATIIATI disbursement (transaction type 3), paid to another organization
February 29, 2012Disbursements<0.1IATIIATI disbursement (transaction type 3), paid to another organization
May 29, 2012Disbursements<0.1IATIIATI disbursement (transaction type 3), paid to another organization
October 30, 2013Disbursements−0.0IATIIATI disbursement (transaction type 3), paid to another organization
Terms5 of 6 reported
Finance type
110 Standard grant
Flow type
10 Official development assistance
Aid type
C01 Project-type interventions
Tied status
Not reported
Collaboration type
1 Bilateral
Humanitarian
No
Policy markers6 policy markers
Policy markerSignificanceSource
Gender equalitySignificant objectiveIATI
EnvironmentSignificant objectiveIATI
BiodiversitySignificant objectiveIATI
Climate change mitigationSignificant objectiveIATI
10Significant objectiveIATI
9Significant objectiveIATI
Locations1 department, 1 place with coordinates
DepartmentsOuest
Places named by the sourceNot reported
Places with coordinates1
Funds passed on7 transactions
ReceiverTransactionDateUS$ millions
Name not shownDisbursementOctober 30, 2013−0.0
Name not shownDisbursementMay 29, 2012<0.1
Name not shownDisbursementFebruary 29, 2012<0.1
Name not shownDisbursementFebruary 9, 2011<0.1
Name not shownDisbursementJuly 14, 2010<0.1
Name not shownDisbursementMarch 24, 2010<0.1
Name not shownDisbursementJune 11, 2009<0.1
Identifiers2 identifiers
SystemIdentifierSource
OECD CRS identifier2009200850IATI
IATI identifierCA-3-S064667002IATI
Where sources differ1 field
FieldSourceValueUsed
CommitmentIATIUS$0.1 million✓
CommitmentIATI, whole activity (all countries)US$0.3 million

Partner documents

Procurement notices (2)

Sources

Data as of October 18, 2026
SourceRead on
Exchange rates (Federal Reserve, IMF)October 18, 2026
IATIOctober 18, 2026
IATIOctober 18, 2026
Cite this page

HaitiDocs. Foundations for sustainable livelihoods in critical biodiversity areas. Partner portfolio, data as of October 18, 2026. https://www.haitidocs.org/portfolio/projects/IATI%3ACA-3-S064667002