Data / Partner portfolio / Canada / Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada (DFATD)
Haiti Floods - Save the Children Emergency Response 2008
US$ millions unless stated. Haitian fiscal year, October to September. FY2026-27 began October 1, 2026.
Description
Within the span of just over one week at the end of August and beginning of September, Hurricanes Fay and Gustav and tropical storm Hanna swept through Haiti, causing widespread destruction throughout the country. While needs assessments are far from complete it is estimated that up to 800,000 people are in need of humanitarian and rehabilitation assistance. The number of Haitians directly and indirectly affected by the extreme weather conditions is much higher. A large majority of the population was already facing extreme hardship with 53% living on less than one US dollar per day, while prices for staple foods have increased over 40% since the beginning of the year. CIDA funding helps Save the Children Canada to enhance the
more
abilities of 7,000 severely affected families in the communities of Cabaret, Fonds Verrettes, and Ganthier in the West Department of Haiti to withstand public health risks and promote resiliency by providing them with essential potable water, hygiene, bedding, and kitchen kits.
- Sector
- Humanitarian
- Stage
- Closed since February 27, 2009
- Start
- September 24, 2008
- Closing
- February 27, 2009
- Effectiveness
- Not reported
- Departments
- Ouest
- Last transaction
- August 31, 2009
- IATI identifier
Life cycle3 stages, 7 dates
Stage history
| Stage | From |
|---|---|
| Under way | September 18, 2008 |
| Closing | Date not reported |
| Closed | February 27, 2009 |
Dated events
| Event | Date | Source |
|---|---|---|
| First disbursement | September 18, 2008 | Transactions |
| Last disbursement | September 18, 2008 | Transactions |
| Actual start | September 24, 2008 | IATI |
| First commitment | September 24, 2008 | Transactions |
| Planned start | September 24, 2008 | IATI |
| Actual end | February 27, 2009 | IATI |
| Closing date | February 28, 2009 | IATI |
Financing
Table 1.Position at the data date by source (stocks), US$ millions
| This pageUS$ millions | Source | |
|---|---|---|
| Commitment | 0.2 | IATI |
| Disbursed | 0.2 | IATI |
| Undisbursed | Not reported | |
| Total cost | Not reported |
IATI amounts. Approved: The commitments the partner reports, converted to US$. Disbursed to date: The disbursements (IATI transaction type 3, money paid to another organization) and expenditure (type 4, money the publisher spent itself) the partner reports, converted to US$. Undisbursed: The undisbursed balance the record gives, where the partner reports one, in US$. Amounts by source
Changes to the operationnot reported
- Original closing date
- Not reported
- Closing date extensions
- Not reported
- Restructurings
- Not reported
- Emergency component
- Not reported
New commitments and disbursements by fiscal year
Table 2.New commitments and disbursements by fiscal year (flows), US$ millions
| FY2007-08US$ millions | FY2008-09US$ millions | |
|---|---|---|
| New commitments | 0.2 | Not reported |
| Disbursements | 0.2 | −0.0 |
| Cumulative disbursements | 0.2 | 0.2 |
Records and documents
Transactions3 records, September 18, 2008 to August 31, 2009
Table 3.Transactions, US$ millions
| Date | Measure | AmountUS$ millions | Source | Method |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| September 24, 2008 | Commitment | 0.2 | IATI | IATI commitment (transaction type 2); converted: CAD at 2008 annual average (Federal Reserve G.5A/G.5 via FRED) |
| September 18, 2008 | Disbursements | 0.2 | IATI | IATI disbursement (transaction type 3), paid to another organization |
| August 31, 2009 | Disbursements | −0.0 | IATI | IATI disbursement (transaction type 3), paid to another organization |
Terms4 of 6 reported
- Finance type
- 110 Standard grant
- Flow type
- Not reported
- Aid type
- C01 Project-type interventions
- Tied status
- Not reported
- Collaboration type
- 1 Bilateral
- Humanitarian
- Yes
Locations1 department, 1 place with coordinates
| Departments | Ouest |
| Places named by the source | Not reported |
| Places with coordinates | 1 |
Funds passed on4 transactions
Identifiers2 identifiers
| System | Identifier | Source |
|---|---|---|
| OECD CRS identifier | 2008000600 | IATI |
| IATI identifier | CA-3-M012927001 | IATI |
Partner documents
- Description, w05.international.gc.ca
- Description, w05.international.gc.ca
- Activity website, savethechildren.ca
- Site web de l'activité, aidealenfance.ca
Procurement notices (2)
- Proactive disclosure, search.open.canada.ca
- Divulgation proactive, rechercher.ouvert.canada.ca
Sources
- IATI record (d-portal): terms of use set by the publisher
- IATI: terms of use set by the publisher
- Transactions: terms of use set by the publisher
Data as of October 18, 2026
| Source | Read on |
|---|---|
| Exchange rates (Federal Reserve, IMF) | October 18, 2026 |
| IATI | October 18, 2026 |
| IATI | October 18, 2026 |
Cite this page
HaitiDocs. Haiti Floods - Save the Children Emergency Response 2008. Partner portfolio, data as of October 18, 2026. https://www.haitidocs.org/portfolio/projects/IATI%3ACA-3-M012927001