Data / Partner portfolio / Canada / Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada (DFATD)
Haiti Floods - World Food Programme 2008
US$ millions unless stated. Haitian fiscal year, October to September. FY2026-27 began October 1, 2026.
Description
Hurricanes Fay and Gustav and tropical storm Hanna swept through Haiti in the late summer of 2008, causing widespread destruction throughout the country. Initial needs assessments following the disasters estimate that up to 800,000 people are in need of humanitarian and rehabilitation assistance. The number of Haitians directly and indirectly affected by the extreme weather conditions is much higher. A large majority of the population is already facing extreme hardship with 53% living on less than one US dollar per day, while prices for staple foods have increased over 40% since the beginning of the year. CIDA's contribution is supporting the World Food Programme (WFP) to help address the emergency food needs of disaster-affected populations in Haiti. Activities concentrate on
more
providing rations and high-energy biscuits to the most vulnerable populations, as well as meals for schoolchildren. WFP activities also include food-for-work and cash-for-work activities. The operation expects to reach an estimated 800,000 beneficiaries.
- Sector
- Humanitarian
- Stage
- Closed since April 30, 2009
- Start
- December 4, 2008
- Closing
- April 30, 2009
- Effectiveness
- Not reported
- Departments
- Ouest
- Last transaction
- December 12, 2008
- IATI identifier
Life cycle4 stages, 7 dates
Stage history
| Stage | From |
|---|---|
| Approved | December 4, 2008 |
| Under way | December 4, 2008 |
| Closing | April 30, 2009 |
| Closed | April 30, 2009 |
Dated events
| Event | Date | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Actual start | December 4, 2008 | IATI |
| First commitment | December 4, 2008 | Transactions |
| Planned start | December 4, 2008 | IATI |
| First disbursement | December 12, 2008 | Transactions |
| Last disbursement | December 12, 2008 | Transactions |
| Actual end | April 30, 2009 | IATI |
| Closing date | April 30, 2009 | IATI |
Financing
Table 1.Position at the data date by source (stocks), US$ millions
| This pageUS$ millions | Source | |
|---|---|---|
| Commitment | 1.4 | IATI |
| Disbursed | 1.2 | IATI |
| Undisbursed | Not reported | |
| Total cost | Not reported |
IATI amounts. Approved: The commitments the partner reports, converted to US$. Disbursed to date: The disbursements (IATI transaction type 3, money paid to another organization) and expenditure (type 4, money the publisher spent itself) the partner reports, converted to US$. Undisbursed: The undisbursed balance the record gives, where the partner reports one, in US$. Amounts by source
Changes to the operationnot reported
- Original closing date
- Not reported
- Closing date extensions
- Not reported
- Restructurings
- Not reported
- Emergency component
- Not reported
New commitments and disbursements by fiscal year
Table 2.New commitments and disbursements by fiscal year (flows), US$ millions
Records and documents
Transactions2 records, December 4, 2008 to December 12, 2008
Table 3.Transactions, US$ millions
Terms4 of 6 reported
- Finance type
- 110 Standard grant
- Flow type
- Not reported
- Aid type
- B03 Contributions to specific-purpose programs and funds managed by implementing partners
- Tied status
- Not reported
- Collaboration type
- 1 Bilateral
- Humanitarian
- Yes
Locations1 department, 1 place with coordinates
| Departments | Ouest |
| Places named by the source | Not reported |
| Places with coordinates | 1 |
Funds passed on1 transaction
| Receiver | Transaction | Date | US$ millions |
|---|---|---|---|
| Name not shown | Disbursement | December 12, 2008 | 1.4 |
Identifiers2 identifiers
| System | Identifier | Source |
|---|---|---|
| OECD CRS identifier | 2008000754 | IATI |
| IATI identifier | CA-3-M012920001 | IATI |
Partner documents
- Description, w05.international.gc.ca
- Description, w05.international.gc.ca
Procurement notices (2)
- Proactive disclosure, search.open.canada.ca
- Divulgation proactive, rechercher.ouvert.canada.ca
Sources
- IATI record (d-portal): terms of use set by the publisher
- IATI: terms of use set by the publisher
- Transactions: terms of use set by the publisher
Data as of October 18, 2026
| Source | Read on |
|---|---|
| Exchange rates (Federal Reserve, IMF) | October 18, 2026 |
| IATI | October 18, 2026 |
| IATI | October 18, 2026 |
Cite this page
HaitiDocs. Haiti Floods - World Food Programme 2008. Partner portfolio, data as of October 18, 2026. https://www.haitidocs.org/portfolio/projects/IATI%3ACA-3-M012920001