Data / Partner portfolio / United States / USAID
More employment and sustainable livelihoods, jobs program
Published title: The recipient shall provide support for a more employment and sustainable livelihoods - jobs program.
US$ millions unless stated. Haitian fiscal year, October to September. FY2026-27 began October 1, 2026.
Description
In Haiti, CHF International is undertaking the KATA program. KATA, which stands for the Creole Konbit Ak Tet Ansanm, the principle of working together to accomplish a common goal, is a program designed to create long and short term employment for the people of Haiti, a country with an unemployment rate estimated at around 60%. CHF International does this through community involvement in rehabilitation of infrastructure projects and through helping existing industries to increase their capacity, efficiency and reach new markets. After the disastrous tropical storm season of 2008, CHF is also partnering with the community in order to reduce the risks of flooding, destruction and loss of life caused by hurricanes and other adverse weather.
- Partner
- United States, USAID
- Sector
- Education
- Stage
- Closed since September 30, 2018
- Start
- November 6, 2006
- Closing
- October 31, 2011
- Instrument
- Cooperative agreement (B), grants
- Implementing agency
- Global Communities, Inc.
- Effectiveness
- Not reported
- Last transaction
- June 28, 2018
- Operation ID
- AID521A000700001
Life cycle3 stages, 9 dates
Stage history
| Stage | From |
|---|---|
| Under way | November 3, 2006 |
| Closing | October 31, 2011 |
| Closed | September 30, 2018 |
Dated events
| Event | Date | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Actual start | November 3, 2006 | IATI |
| Approval | November 6, 2006 | USAspending |
| Planned start | November 6, 2006 | USAspending |
| Signing | November 6, 2006 | USAspending |
| First commitment | November 12, 2008 | Transactions |
| Closing date | October 31, 2011 | USAspending |
| First disbursement | September 30, 2015 | Transactions |
| Last disbursement | December 31, 2016 | Transactions |
| Actual end | September 30, 2018 | IATI |
Financing
Table 1.Position at the data date by source (stocks), US$ millions
| This pageUS$ millions | Source | IATIUS$ millions | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Commitment | 104.6 | USAspending | −0.2 |
| Disbursed | −0.1 | IATI | −0.1 |
| Undisbursed | Not reported | ||
| Total cost | Not reported |
USAspending amounts. Approved: The obligations of the award, in US$: the legal commitment of federal funds. Disbursed to date: The outlays of the award, in US$. Undisbursed: The undisbursed balance the record gives, where the source reports one, in US$. IATI column: the commitments and disbursements the partner reports to IATI, converted to US$. Amounts by source
This page uses USAspending for the commitment and IATI for disbursements.
Changes to the operationnot reported
- Original closing date
- Not reported
- Closing date extensions
- Not reported
- Restructurings
- Not reported
- April 26, 2010 (document of April 26, 2010) Award modification
- June 14, 2010 (document of June 14, 2010) Award modification
- September 15, 2010 (document of September 15, 2010) Award modification
- Emergency component
- Not reported
New commitments and disbursements by fiscal year
Table 2.New commitments and disbursements by fiscal year (flows), US$ millions
| FY2008-09US$ millions | FY2009-10US$ millions | FY2010-11US$ millions | FY2013-14US$ millions | FY2014-15US$ millions | FY2015-16US$ millions | FY2016-17US$ millions | FY2017-18US$ millions | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| New commitments | 40.4 | 5.6 | 2.8 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | −0.2 |
| Disbursements | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | −0.1 | <0.1 | <0.1 | <0.1 | Not reported |
| Cumulative disbursements | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | −0.1 | −0.1 | −0.1 | −0.1 | Not reported |
Records and documents
Transactions15 records, November 12, 2008 to June 28, 2018
Table 3.Transactions, US$ millions
| Date | Measure | AmountUS$ millions | Source | Method |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| November 12, 2008 | Commitment | 11.6 | USAspending | USAspending obligation |
| July 7, 2009 | Commitment | 12.8 | USAspending | USAspending obligation |
| July 9, 2009 | Commitment | 14.9 | USAspending | USAspending obligation |
| July 10, 2009 | Commitment | 1.1 | USAspending | USAspending obligation |
| November 13, 2009 | Commitment | 0.3 | USAspending | USAspending obligation |
| April 26, 2010 | Commitment | 0.8 | USAspending | USAspending obligation |
| June 14, 2010 | Commitment | 4.5 | USAspending | USAspending obligation |
| February 1, 2011 | Commitment | 2.8 | USAspending | USAspending obligation |
| June 28, 2018 | Commitment | −0.2 | USAspending | negative commitment as reported: a reduction or correction of an earlier commitment, not a cancellation in the source; USAspending obligation |
| March 31, 2014 | Disbursements | −0.0 | IATI | IATI disbursement (transaction type 3), paid to another organization |
| September 30, 2014 | Disbursements | −0.1 | IATI | IATI disbursement (transaction type 3), paid to another organization |
| September 30, 2015 | Disbursements | <0.1 | IATI | IATI disbursement (transaction type 3), paid to another organization |
| December 31, 2015 | Disbursements | <0.1 | IATI | IATI disbursement (transaction type 3), paid to another organization |
| March 31, 2016 | Disbursements | −0.0 | IATI | IATI disbursement (transaction type 3), paid to another organization |
| December 31, 2016 | Disbursements | <0.1 | IATI | IATI disbursement (transaction type 3), paid to another organization |
Terms2 of 6 reported
- Finance type
- 110 Standard grant
- Flow type
- Not reported
- Aid type
- C01 Project-type interventions
- Tied status
- Not reported
- Collaboration type
- Not reported
- Humanitarian
- Not reported
Identifiers2 identifiers
| System | Identifier | Source |
|---|---|---|
| IATI identifier | US-GOV-1-AID-521-A-00-07-00001 | IATI |
| US award | AID521A000700001 | Operation record |
Where sources differ3 fields
| Field | Source | Value | Used |
|---|---|---|---|
| Closing date | USAspending | October 31, 2011 | ✓ |
| Closing date | IATI | September 30, 2018 | |
| Commitment | USAspending | US$104.6 million | ✓ |
| Commitment | IATI | US$−0.2 million | |
| Status | USAspending | Closed | ✓ |
| Status | IATI | Active |
Partner documents
No document is listed for this operation.
Sources
- IATI record (d-portal): terms of use set by the publisher
- Transactions: terms of use set by the publisher
- Operation record: terms of use set by the publisher
- USAspending: terms of use set by the publisher
- USAspending award page: terms of use set by the publisher
Data as of October 18, 2026
| Source | Read on |
|---|---|
| IATI | October 18, 2026 |
| USAspending | October 18, 2026 |
| USAspending | October 18, 2026 |
Cite this page
HaitiDocs. More employment and sustainable livelihoods, jobs program. Partner portfolio, data as of October 18, 2026. https://www.haitidocs.org/portfolio/projects/US%3AAID521A000700001