HaitiDocs

Data / Partner portfolio / United States / USAID

Improving governance initiative (IGHI)

Published title: Improving governance in Haiti initiative (IGHI)

US$ millions unless stated. Haitian fiscal year, October to September. FY2026-27 began October 1, 2026.

Description

(Haiti): With FY 2021 funds, the Project Supporting the Efficient Management of State Resources (GERE) aims to contribute to the decentralization efforts of the GOH by addressing long-standing issues that impede better governance in Haiti. The project will advance the Mission's objective to improve independent and accountable GOH institutions. With an all-Haitian staff and a consortium of two local institutions-the Institute for Training and Services (IFOS) and the Center for Training and Technical Coaching (CFET)-RTI International is well-placed for this governance initiative. The Project will support select municipal, departmental, and central level GOH entities' ability to integrate best governance practices to improve domestic resource mobilization and planning to combat corruption for the improvement of public service delivery. Building on USAID

more

activities, GERE will leverage past, current, and upcoming development efforts to facilitate demand-driven, locally owned, and effective coordination and collaboration in development programming, including contributing to the findings of the Organization for Economic Development and Coordination's public governance review. GERE will also support key GOH institutions to build leadership and advocacy skills at the national and local levels and support them to better understand their roles and responsibilities, strengthen their governance processes and mechanisms while increasing civic engagement. Given the volatility of the Haitian governance landscape, the project will continue to use adaptive management approaches to reach its objectives. ......

Partner
United States, USAID
Sector
Governance and security
Stage
Closed since September 30, 2024
Start
February 20, 2019
Closing
September 30, 2024
Instrument
Definitive contract, contracts
Implementing agency
Research Triangle Institute
Effectiveness
Not reported
Last transaction
September 5, 2024
Operation ID
72052119C00001
Life cycle4 stages, 9 dates

Stage history

StageFrom
ApprovedFebruary 20, 2019
Under wayFebruary 20, 2019
ClosingSeptember 30, 2024
ClosedSeptember 30, 2024

Dated events

EventDateSource
Actual startFebruary 20, 2019IATI
ApprovalFebruary 20, 2019USAspending
Planned startFebruary 20, 2019USAspending
SigningFebruary 20, 2019USAspending
First commitmentMarch 7, 2019Transactions
First disbursementSeptember 30, 2019Transactions
Last disbursementJune 30, 2022Transactions
Actual endSeptember 30, 2024IATI
Closing dateSeptember 30, 2024USAspending

Financing

Table 1.Position at the data date by source (stocks), US$ millions

This pageUS$ millionsSourceIATIUS$ millions
Commitment9.4USAspending9.4
Disbursed8.6USAspending9.3
UndisbursedNot reported
Total costNot reported

USAspending amounts. Approved: The obligations of the award, in US$: the legal commitment of federal funds. Disbursed to date: The outlays of the award, in US$. Undisbursed: The undisbursed balance the record gives, where the source reports one, in US$. IATI column: the commitments and disbursements the partner reports to IATI, converted to US$. Amounts by source

Changes to the operation2 restructurings
Original closing date
Not reported
Closing date extensions
Not reported
Restructurings
2
Emergency component
Not reported

New commitments and disbursements by fiscal year

Disbursements, US$ millions
FY2018-19, US$0.7 million0.718-19FY2019-20, US$2.4 million219-20FY2020-21, US$3.9 million420-21FY2021-22, US$2.3 million221-22FY2022-23, not reportedn.r.22-23FY2023-24, not reportedn.r.23-24FY2018-19, US$0.7 million0.718-19FY2019-20, US$2.4 million219-20FY2020-21, US$3.9 million420-21FY2021-22, US$2.3 million221-22FY2022-23, not reportedn.r.22-23FY2023-24, not reportedn.r.23-24

Table 2.New commitments and disbursements by fiscal year (flows), US$ millions

FY2018-19US$ millionsFY2019-20US$ millionsFY2020-21US$ millionsFY2021-22US$ millionsFY2022-23US$ millionsFY2023-24US$ millions
New commitments6.80.52.2Not reported0.00.0
Disbursements0.72.43.92.3Not reportedNot reported
Cumulative disbursements0.73.17.09.3Not reportedNot reported

Records and documents

Transactions22 records, March 7, 2019 to September 5, 2024

Table 3.Transactions, US$ millions

DateMeasureAmountUS$ millionsSourceMethod
March 7, 2019Commitment4.0USAspendingUSAspending obligation
July 30, 2019Commitment1.5USAspendingUSAspending obligation
September 20, 2019Commitment1.2USAspendingUSAspending obligation
September 9, 2020Commitment0.5USAspendingUSAspending obligation
April 15, 2021Commitment1.4USAspendingUSAspending obligation
August 30, 2021Commitment0.8USAspendingUSAspending obligation
September 25, 2023Commitment0.1USAspendingUSAspending obligation
September 29, 2023Commitment−0.1USAspendingnegative commitment as reported: a reduction or correction of an earlier commitment, not a cancellation in the source; USAspending obligation
July 9, 2024Commitment0.1USAspendingUSAspending obligation
September 5, 2024Commitment−0.1USAspendingnegative commitment as reported: a reduction or correction of an earlier commitment, not a cancellation in the source; USAspending obligation
September 30, 2019Disbursements0.7IATIIATI disbursement (transaction type 3), paid to another organization
December 31, 2019Disbursements0.5IATIIATI disbursement (transaction type 3), paid to another organization
March 31, 2020Disbursements0.8IATIIATI disbursement (transaction type 3), paid to another organization
June 30, 2020Disbursements0.6IATIIATI disbursement (transaction type 3), paid to another organization
September 30, 2020Disbursements0.5IATIIATI disbursement (transaction type 3), paid to another organization
December 31, 2020Disbursements0.7IATIIATI disbursement (transaction type 3), paid to another organization
March 31, 2021Disbursements0.9IATIIATI disbursement (transaction type 3), paid to another organization
June 30, 2021Disbursements1.1IATIIATI disbursement (transaction type 3), paid to another organization
September 30, 2021Disbursements1.2IATIIATI disbursement (transaction type 3), paid to another organization
December 31, 2021Disbursements1.4IATIIATI disbursement (transaction type 3), paid to another organization
March 31, 2022Disbursements0.7IATIIATI disbursement (transaction type 3), paid to another organization
June 30, 2022Disbursements0.1IATIIATI disbursement (transaction type 3), paid to another organization
Terms1 of 6 reported
Finance type
Not reported
Flow type
Not reported
Aid type
C01 Project-type interventions
Tied status
Not reported
Collaboration type
Not reported
Humanitarian
Not reported
Funds passed on21 transactions
ReceiverTransactionDateUS$ millions
Institut de Formation du SudSubawardDecember 8, 20210.2
Centre de Formation et d'Encadrement Technique S.A.SubawardNovember 3, 2021<0.1
Institut de Formation du SudSubawardMay 25, 20210.3
Institut des Auditeurs InternesSubawardMay 5, 20210.1
Gardaworld Government Services Inc.SubawardApril 9, 2021<0.1
Institut de Formation du SudSubawardApril 7, 20210.9
Institut de Formation du SudSubawardFebruary 10, 20210.5
Gardaworld Government Services Inc.SubawardFebruary 2, 2021<0.1
Papyrus S.A.SubawardJanuary 11, 20210.1
Centre de Formation et d'Encadrement Technique S.A.SubawardSeptember 4, 20200.1
Initiative de la Societe CivileSubawardAugust 27, 2020<0.1
Gardaworld Government Services Inc.SubawardAugust 6, 2020<0.1
Centre de Formation et d'Encadrement Technique S.A.SubawardAugust 3, 20200.3
Institut de Formation du SudSubawardAugust 3, 20200.5
Gardaworld Government Services Inc.SubawardApril 29, 2020<0.1
VIAMO PBC Inc.SubawardMarch 30, 20200.1
Centre de Formation et d'Encadrement Technique S.A.SubawardFebruary 13, 20200.1
Institut de Formation du SudSubawardJanuary 7, 20200.5
Toyota Gibraltar Stockholdings LtdSubawardSeptember 12, 20190.1
Gardaworld Government Services Inc.SubawardJuly 10, 2019<0.1
Gardaworld Government Services Inc.SubawardJune 3, 2019<0.1
Identifiers2 identifiers
SystemIdentifierSource
IATI identifierUS-GOV-1-72052119C00001IATI
US award72052119C00001Operation record
Where sources differ1 field
FieldSourceValueUsed
StatusUSAspendingClosed✓
StatusIATIActive

Partner documents

No document is listed for this operation.

Sources

Data as of October 18, 2026
SourceRead on
IATIOctober 18, 2026
USAspendingOctober 18, 2026
USAspendingOctober 18, 2026
Cite this page

HaitiDocs. Improving governance initiative (IGHI). Partner portfolio, data as of October 18, 2026. https://www.haitidocs.org/portfolio/projects/US%3A72052119C00001