Data / Partner portfolio / World Bank Group / IFC
MicroCredit National, S.A.
US$ millions unless stated. Haitian fiscal year, October to September. FY2026-27 began October 1, 2026.
Description
REVISED Summary Of Project Information (SPI) Project Name Haiti-MicroCredit National, S.A. Region Latin American and the Caribbean Sector Project No008561 Projected Board DateJune 11, 1998 Company NameMicroCredit National, S.A. Technical Partner and/or Major Shareholders IPC GmbH, a consulting company based in Germany, has consulted with or managed numerous microlending operations in Latin American, Africa, and Eastern Europe, including projects with IFC. IPC will serve both as shareholder and technical partner in setting up the company. Unibank, S.A., Haití''s second largest bank in term of assets, will be the largest single shareholder. Founded in 1993, Unibank is controlled by a group of young Haitian businessmen. Unibank has several subsidiaries, including a consumer credit company, a real estate development company, an investment
more
bank, and a consulting firm, which together join the "Group Financial National" (GFN). At the end of September 1997, Unibank had the equivalent of US$138 million in assets, and capital of US$6 million. Project Cost Including proposed IFC investment US$2,000,000 in equity, of which IFC would contribute up to US$500,000. Location of project and Description of site Port-au-Prince, Haiti Description of Company and Purpose of Project The project would create MicroCredit National, S.A., the first financial institution dedicated exclusively to lending on a commercial basis to microenterprises in Haiti. The new institution will offer loans ranging in size from US$200 to US$10,000 to an eventual client base of 10,000-20,000 customers in the informal sector. Its operations will make use of special credit analysis and loan administration technologies to serve a large number of very small clients. IPC GmbH will manage the bank under contract for the start up phase, with plans to train and eventually turn over the management to Haitian staff. Environmental Category and Issues This is a Financial Intermediary (FI) category project according to IFC''s environmental review procedure. The project will be required to lend to subborrowers whose projects comply with relevant laws of Haiti, commit to the use of an exclusion list as part of the application review process, and disseminate appropriate environmental information to loan applicants. Date SPI sent to Infoshop: Revised: May 7, 1998 May 14, 1998 “This Summary of Project Information is prepared and distributed to the public in advance of consideration of the proposed transaction by the Corporation’s Board of Directors.
- Partner
- World Bank Group, IFC
- Stage
- Closed since September 14, 1999
- Approval
- June 11, 1998
- Closing
- Not reported
- Instrument
- Equity, Equity
- Effectiveness
- December 17, 1999
- Last transaction
- September 14, 1999
- Operation ID
- 8561
Life cycle3 stages, 9 dates
Stage history
| Stage | From |
|---|---|
| Approved | June 11, 1998 |
| Under way | September 14, 1999 |
| Closed | September 14, 1999 |
Dated events
| Event | Date | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Disclosure | May 7, 1998 | IFC Finances One |
| Approval | June 11, 1998 | IFC Finances One |
| First commitment | June 11, 1998 | Transactions |
| Last disbursement | September 14, 1999 | Transactions |
| Planned start | September 14, 1999 | IATI |
| Signing | September 14, 1999 | IFC Finances One |
| Actual start | December 17, 1999 | IATI |
| Effectiveness | December 17, 1999 | IFC Finances One |
| First disbursement | December 17, 1999 | IFC Finances One |
Financing
Table 1.Financing, US$ millions
| Financier | AmountUS$ millions | Role | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| IFC equity | 0.5 | Institution | IFC Finances One |
Table 2.Position at the data date by source (stocks), US$ millions
| This pageUS$ millions | Source | IATIUS$ millions | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Commitment | 0.5 | IFC Finances One | 0.5 |
| Disbursed | 0.5 | IATI | 0.5 |
| Undisbursed | Not reported | ||
| Total cost | Not reported |
Each amount is given as the source publishes it, converted to US$. IATI column: the commitments and disbursements the partner reports to IATI, converted to US$. Amounts by source
This page uses IFC Finances One for the commitment and IATI for disbursements.
Changes to the operationnot reported
- Original closing date
- Not reported
- Closing date extensions
- Not reported
- Restructurings
- Not reported
- Emergency component
- Not reported
New commitments and disbursements by fiscal year
Table 3.New commitments and disbursements by fiscal year (flows), US$ millions
| FY1997-98US$ millions | FY1998-99US$ millions | |
|---|---|---|
| New commitments | 0.5 | Not reported |
| Disbursements | Not reported | 0.5 |
| Cumulative disbursements | Not reported | 0.5 |
Records and documents
Transactions2 records, June 11, 1998 to September 14, 1999
Table 4.Transactions, US$ millions
Terms5 of 6 reported
- Finance type
- 510 Common equity
- Flow type
- 35 Private market
- Aid type
- C01 Project-type interventions
- Tied status
- 5 Untied
- Collaboration type
- 6 Private development finance
- Humanitarian
- Not reported
Locations1 place named, 1 place with coordinates
| Departments | Not reported |
| Places named by the source | Location description |
| Places with coordinates | 1 |
Funds passed on1 transaction
| Receiver | Transaction | Date | US$ millions |
|---|---|---|---|
| Micro Crédit National S.A. | Commitment | September 14, 1999 | 0.5 |
Identifiers2 identifiers
| System | Identifier | Source |
|---|---|---|
| IATI identifier | XM-DAC-903-SPI-8561 | IATI |
| IFC project | 8561 | Operation record |
Where sources differ1 field
| Field | Source | Value | Used |
|---|---|---|---|
| Status | IFC Finances One | Closed | ✓ |
| Status | IATI | Active |
Partner documents
- See Environmental and Social Management System (ESMS) summary tab., disclosures.ifc.org
- Summary of Project Information, disclosures.ifc.org
Sources
- IATI record (d-portal): terms of use set by the publisher
- IATI: terms of use set by the publisher
- IFC project page: terms of use set by the publisher
- Transactions: terms of use set by the publisher
- Operation record: terms of use set by the publisher
Data as of October 18, 2026
| Source | Read on |
|---|---|
| IATI | October 18, 2026 |
| IATI | October 18, 2026 |
| IFC Finances One | October 18, 2026 |
Cite this page
HaitiDocs. MicroCredit National, S.A.. Partner portfolio, data as of October 18, 2026. https://www.haitidocs.org/portfolio/projects/IFC%3A8561