Data / Partner portfolio / IDB Group / IDB Lab
Improving remittance services and promoting investments
Published title: Improving remittance services and promoting investments in Haiti
US$ millions unless stated. Haitian fiscal year, October to September. FY2026-27 began October 1, 2026.
Objective
Fonkoze has been working to improve the access and the use of remittances in the rural areas of Haiti and propose to pilot new remittance services that bring a direct benefit to the consumers, both sender and beneficiary. For that, it has entered into a partnership with City National Bank of New Jersey for deployment of a Visa Prepaid/Payroll Card that facilitates the Diaspora's ability to send funds to the rural areas of Haiti by using card-based technology. This technology lowers the fees, increases security and simplifies the process of sending remittances, thereby enabling increased investment in the rural economies of Haiti. The projects will achieve this goal through financial education, and distribution of a low cost financial product for Haitian clients within the United States, the Visa Prepaid/Payroll Card.
As published by IDB projects dataset, in its original language.
- Stage
- Closed
- Approval
- September 18, 2009
- Closing
- Not reported
- Instrument
- Technical cooperation, Non-Sovereign Guaranteed
- Effectiveness
- Not reported
- Last transaction
- September 18, 2009
- Operation ID
- HA-M1020
Life cycle3 stages, 3 dates
Stage history
| Stage | From |
|---|---|
| Approved | September 18, 2009 |
| Under way | November 5, 2009 |
| Closed | Date not reported |
Dated events
| Event | Date | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Approval | September 18, 2009 | IDB projects dataset |
| First commitment | September 18, 2009 | Transactions |
| Signing | November 5, 2009 | IDB projects dataset |
Financing
Table 1.Financing, US$ millions
| Financier | AmountUS$ millions | Role | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| IDB | 0.7 | Institution | IDB projects dataset |
Table 2.Position at the data date by source (stocks), US$ millions
| This pageUS$ millions | Source | |
|---|---|---|
| Commitment | 0.7 | IDB projects dataset |
| Disbursed | Not reported | |
| Undisbursed | Not reported | |
| Total cost | 0.7 | IDB projects dataset |
Each amount is given as the source publishes it, converted to US$. Amounts by source
Changes to the operationnot reported
- Original closing date
- Not reported
- Closing date extensions
- Not reported
- Restructurings
- Not reported
- Emergency component
- Not reported
New commitments and disbursements by fiscal year
Table 3.New commitments and disbursements by fiscal year (flows), US$ millions
| FY2008-09US$ millions | |
|---|---|
| New commitments | 0.7 |
| Disbursements | Not reported |
| Cumulative disbursements | Not reported |
Records and documents
Transactions1 record, September 18, 2009
Table 4.Transactions, US$ millions
| Date | Measure | AmountUS$ millions | Source | Method |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| September 18, 2009 | Commitment | 0.7 | IDB projects dataset | commitment at approval date |
Terms1 of 6 reported
- Finance type
- 110 Standard grant
- Flow type
- Not reported
- Aid type
- Not reported
- Tied status
- Not reported
- Collaboration type
- Not reported
- Humanitarian
- Not reported
Identifiers1 identifier
| System | Identifier | Source |
|---|---|---|
| IDB operation | HA-M1020 | Operation record |
Partner documents
No document is listed for this operation.
Sources
- IDB project page: terms of use set by the publisher
- Transactions: terms of use set by the publisher
- Operation record: terms of use set by the publisher
Data as of October 18, 2026
| Source | Read on |
|---|---|
| IDB projects dataset | October 18, 2026 |
Cite this page
HaitiDocs. Improving remittance services and promoting investments. Partner portfolio, data as of October 18, 2026. https://www.haitidocs.org/portfolio/projects/IDB%3AHA-M1020