Data / Partner portfolio / Germany / Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ)
Water supply and socio-ecological rehabilitation in southern Haiti
US$ millions unless stated. Haitian fiscal year, October to September. FY2026-27 began October 1, 2026.
Description
In recent years, the project sponsor has built up expertise in the construction and restoration of water points. In addition to the technical component, the project approach focuses on the local population taking responsibility and actively participating. Local groups formulate their needs, submit an application to the project sponsor, and participate in planning and implementation. Management committees are set up and trained to use and maintain the spring catchments and water reservoirs, and contributions are collected from users to ensure maintenance. The area surrounding the water points is being reforested to protect water reserves in the long term. Children at schools in the project area are taught about hygiene and environmental protection and encouraged to get involved. They also take
more
part in tree planting campaigns. The project sponsor promotes the participation of women in the measures.
- Sector
- Water and sanitation
- Stage
- Under way since January 1, 2026
- Start
- January 1, 2026
- Closing
- December 31, 2029
- Effectiveness
- Not reported
- Departments
- Ouest
- Last transaction
- June 30, 2026
- IATI identifier
Life cycle1 stage, 6 dates
Stage history
| Stage | From |
|---|---|
| Under way | January 1, 2026 |
Dated events
| Event | Date | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Actual start | January 1, 2026 | IATI |
| Planned start | January 1, 2026 | IATI |
| First commitment | January 2, 2026 | Transactions |
| First disbursement | March 31, 2026 | Transactions |
| Last disbursement | June 30, 2026 | Transactions |
| Closing date | December 31, 2029 | IATI |
Disbursed in FY2025-26: US$0.1 million.
Financing
Table 1.Position at the data date by source (stocks), US$ millions
| This pageUS$ millions | Source | |
|---|---|---|
| Commitment | 0.4 | IATI |
| Disbursed | 0.1 | IATI |
| Undisbursed | Not reported | |
| Total cost | Not reported |
IATI amounts. Approved: The commitments the partner reports, converted to US$. Disbursed to date: The disbursements (IATI transaction type 3, money paid to another organization) and expenditure (type 4, money the publisher spent itself) the partner reports, converted to US$. Undisbursed: The undisbursed balance the record gives, where the partner reports one, in US$. Amounts by source
Changes to the operationnot reported
- Original closing date
- Not reported
- Closing date extensions
- Not reported
- Restructurings
- Not reported
- Emergency component
- Not reported
New commitments and disbursements by fiscal year
Table 2.New commitments and disbursements by fiscal year (flows), US$ millions
Records and documents
Transactions3 records, January 2, 2026 to June 30, 2026
Table 3.Transactions, US$ millions
| Date | Measure | AmountUS$ millions | Source | Method |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| January 2, 2026 | Commitment | 0.4 | IATI | IATI commitment (transaction type 2); converted: EUR at 2026 average of 9 months to date (Federal Reserve G.5A/G.5 via FRED) |
| March 31, 2026 | Disbursements | <0.1 | IATI | IATI expenditure (transaction type 4), spent by the publisher |
| June 30, 2026 | Disbursements | <0.1 | IATI | IATI expenditure (transaction type 4), spent by the publisher |
Terms4 of 6 reported
- Finance type
- 110 Standard grant
- Flow type
- 10 Official development assistance
- Aid type
- C01 Project-type interventions
- Tied status
- 3 Partially tied
- Collaboration type
- Not reported
- Humanitarian
- Not reported
Policy markers17 policy markers
| Policy marker | Significance | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Gender equality | Significant objective | IATI |
| Disaster risk reduction | Not targeted | IATI |
| Disability | Not targeted | IATI |
| Environment | Principal objective | IATI |
| Participatory development and good governance | Principal objective | IATI |
| Biodiversity | Not targeted | IATI |
| Climate change mitigation | Not targeted | IATI |
| Climate change adaptation | Not targeted | IATI |
| Desertification | Not targeted | IATI |
| Reproductive, maternal, newborn and child health | Not targeted | IATI |
| SDG 1 No poverty | Not reported | IATI |
| SDG 10 Reduced inequalities | Not reported | IATI |
| SDG 12 Responsible consumption and production | Not reported | IATI |
| SDG 16 Peace, justice and strong institutions | Not reported | IATI |
| SDG 3 Good health and well-being | Not reported | IATI |
| SDG 6 Clean water and sanitation | Not reported | IATI |
| Zivilgesellschaftliches, kommunales und wirtschaftliches Engagement | Not reported | IATI |
Locations1 department, 1 place named, 1 place with coordinates
| Departments | Ouest |
| Places named by the source | Port-au-Prince |
| Places with coordinates | 1 |
Identifiers2 identifiers
| System | Identifier | Source |
|---|---|---|
| IATI identifier | DE-1-202629061 | IATI |
| Publisher’s internal activity number | 202629061 | IATI |
Partner documents
No document is listed for this operation.
Sources
- IATI record (d-portal): terms of use set by the publisher
- Transactions: terms of use set by the publisher
Data as of October 18, 2026
| Source | Read on |
|---|---|
| Exchange rates (Federal Reserve, IMF) | October 18, 2026 |
| IATI | October 18, 2026 |
Cite this page
HaitiDocs. Water supply and socio-ecological rehabilitation in southern Haiti. Partner portfolio, data as of October 18, 2026. https://www.haitidocs.org/portfolio/projects/IATI%3ADE-1-202629061